It’s the Story, Stupid.

by

I’m getting forgetful in my advanced age.  When I was writing my JSA team design article, I left out an mportant point I wanted to address.  I think I touched on the fact that the first three teams in the set all spun out of Geoff Johns’ run on Green Lantern.  And that the majority of the Green Lantern and Anti-Matter cards were specifically inspired by the Sinestro Corps War.  But I forgot to come back to the central point I was trying to make.

Living up to a name like DC Universe is no easy task.  While the Sinestro Corps War is easily the coolest thing to happen in the DCU this past year, there was a lot of other stuff we had to address if we really wanted to call the set DC Universe.

Sometimes it was painful.  Folks, I had to read every single issue of Countdown and all the tie-ins.  It wasn’t easy, but I did it for you.

The end result is that I believe we have touched on every major development in the DCU since the end of Infinite Crisis.  We gave preference to recent storylines (even if some of them were really, really bad).  Although we did skip one major storyline for reasons that will be explained at a later date.

One of the better-received storylines following Infinite Crisis was the JLA/JSA/Legionnaires cross-over, The Lightning Saga.  I’m not going to bother trying to summarize what happened because it was a confusing mess.  But it did feature two of my favorite teams in comics; the JLA and JSA.

Since JLA got re-featured in DCL, we weren’t about to refeature them again already.  (I mean, they’re not the X-Men.)  And let’s just say the Legionnaires will get their day in the sun soon enough.  So, to represent The Lightning Saga, we focused on the JSA.

To be honest, not a lot of the cards in the set tie into TLS directly.  (That was partially just my excuse for refeaturing them.)  Instead, the JSA will cover everything from the Justice Society of America relaunch up through Thy Kingdom Come.

Ah, heck.  Here’s a stealth preview:

Leave a Reply

